Nearly 7% of Americans suffer from different food allergies, with nut allergies, egg allergies, and daily allergies being some of the most common.
Living with dietary restrictions can be tricky, especially when it comes to finding desserts that won’t upset your stomach or, worse, send you to the emergency room from a severe allergic reaction.
If you are trying to lose weight, you are also concerned with making the appropriate choice.
You are even starting to think that you may need to abandon your love of chocolate and your favorite dessert altogether.
Gelato is a sweet delight and a great alternative to ice cream and other high-fat options.
The taste is more complex than sherbet and sorbet, and there are many popular flavors to choose from.
Fascinating Nutritional Facts About Gelato
The art of gelato is a centuries-old craft.
However, the basic ingredients and tastes have not changed much.
Learn more about gelato, including its traditional ingredients and alternative recipes, to help you make an informed decision about your next dessert choice.
Vanilla Gelato Is Lower in Fat and Calories Than Traditional Ice Cream
Made with a simple base of milk, eggs, and sugar, gelato is actually lower in calories and fat than ice cream.
The simple reason is the use of lower-calorie dairy products than ice cream, which uses heavy cream in its base.
Flavors are then added to the custard base, from almond to coconut, chocolate, and the traditional lemon, to create an unforgettable finished product.
There are Options For People With Egg Sensitivities and Dairy Sensitivities
Gelato does contain both egg and dairy, which is a no-no for people with special diets and specific food insensitivites.
Luckily, several gelato flavors for kids and adults alike are crafted with egg and dairy substitutes.
Are you considering sampling store-bought gelato?
Always read the ingredients list to ensure there is no artificial flavor and that individuals with dietary restrictions can eat the product.
Have Gluten Sensitivities? Gelato Is the Perfect Gluten-Free Food
Gluten is a naturally-occurring protein found in wheat and several other grains.
Luckily, because no wheat or grains are used in the crafting of gelato, this sweet treat does not contain any gluten ingredients, making it a 100% gluten-free dessert!
That’s right, even if you have a gluten intolerance or Celiac Disease, you can visit your favorite gelato shop and indulge in a scoop of vanilla, chocolate, or pistachio gelato!
Gelato vs Frozen Yogurt: What Is the Better Low-Sugar Option?
You are on a diet and wondering what would be the better option, gelato or frozen yogurt?
Frozen yogurt does have a slightly lower caloric count than gelato.
Is it worth sacrificing gelato’s texture and taste to avoid consuming 50 additional calories?
Remember that even though there are fewer calories and fat in froyo, nothing can compare to the depth of flavor and marvelous texture of gelato!
Stop Into I Scream Gelato And Sample Our Gluten-Free and Vegan Options
Ready to indulge in a sweet, gluten-free bowl of gelato? Come on into I Scream Gelato!
We take great strides to avoid cross-contact between our ingredients and products, meaning that if you are gluten-free or vegan, you can rest assured your scoop of sorbet, iced macchiato, coffee and gelato is always fresh and safe!